### Minutes of the AGM held on 25 November 2024 at University of Lincoln Isaac Newton Building

#### **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING FOR 2023 - 2024**

The President, Chairman, Secretary and 74 members of the Society were present. The Chairman welcomed Canon Nick Brown, Precentor of Lincoln and thanked him for agreeing to chair the meeting. She also thank him for his help and support in getting Lincoln Choral Society to sing in the Messiah concert with the Cathedral Choir.

#### 1. Apologies for Absence

Paulina Grasso, Pru Pearce, Lindy Allen, Fiona Beemster, Nicola Amos, Norma Tutty, Jon Scourse, Linda Hepburn-Booth, Tim Wright, Ian Elliott, Sue Gresham, Kate Thomas, Sue Breeson, Mary Hartshorne, John Rowland, Sarah Mack

# 2. Minutes of the AGM held on 22<sup>nd</sup> January 2024

Minutes of AGM 2023 had been circulated prior to the meeting. Julia Woodthorpe proposed and Tom Morton seconded that they should be accepted as a true record. All agreed.

## 3. Matters Arising

None

### 4. Chairman's Report

The Chairman's report had been circulated prior to the meeting. There were no questions. Dawn Flood proposed and Bron Williams seconded that it should be accepted. All agreed.

#### 5. Musical Director's Report

The Musical Director's report had been circulated prior to the meeting. Mark Wilde said well done to the choir for the performance of Messiah, to which many of the choir responded well done to Mark. There were no questions. Simon Clarke proposed and Lindsey Sutton seconded that it should be accepted. All agreed

#### 6. Report on the Accounts for the 2023-24 season

The accounts had been circulated prior to the meeting. Sue Marris commented that the finances were now heading in the right direction. Acceptance of the accounts were proposed by Sue Marris and seconded by Sue Townsend. All agreed.

## 7. Election of Committee Members and Trustees of the Society

The following were elected unopposed:

| Role                | Nominee            | Proposer         | Seconder       |
|---------------------|--------------------|------------------|----------------|
| Chairman / Trustee  | Elisabeth Murray   | Sue Townsend     | Tom Morton     |
| Secretary / Trustee | Alan Humphries     | Liz Murray       | Bill Shaw      |
| Treasurer / Trustee | Susan Marris       | Mary Hartshorne  | Nijole Cameron |
| Concert Manager     | Sue Townsend       | Gail Graham      | Dawn Flood     |
| Soprano Rep         | Gail Graham        | Julia Woodthorpe | Jo Johnston    |
|                     | (until April 2025) |                  |                |
|                     | Julia Woodthorpe   | Jo Johnston      | Bron Williams  |
|                     | (from April 2025)  |                  |                |
| Contralto Rep       | Jan Sherlock       | Mary Beech       | Alison Whiles  |
| Tenor Rep           | Paul Stratton      | Keith Butter     | Helen Brace    |
| Bass Rep            | Simon Clarke       | Tom Morton       | Fin Pollard    |

## 8. Election of other Officers of the Society

The following officers of the society were appointed:

| Role                      | Nominee                      |  |
|---------------------------|------------------------------|--|
| Chorus Secretary          | Bron Wiliams                 |  |
| Librarian                 | Julia Woodthorpe             |  |
| Friends' Secretary        | Charlotte Smirthwaite Walker |  |
| Publicity Co-ordinator    | Diane Swales                 |  |
| Social Secretary          | Ingrid Alsop                 |  |
| Subscriptions Secretary   | Janet McNeill                |  |
| Social Media Co-ordinator | Angela Clifton               |  |
| Website Administrator     | Jo Johnston                  |  |

## 9. Appointment of Independent Examiner

Bruce Nelson was proposed as the Independent Examiner by Sue Marris and seconded by Janet McNeill, and this was carried unanimously.

### 10. Any other business (at Chairman's discretion)

None

#### 11. Close

The meeting closed at 19.45