Bach - Magnificat, Telemann Overture


J S Bach - Magnificat

J S Bach - Wachet Auf
Telemann Overture TWV55 D18


Friday 5th November 2016, 7.30pm


Lincoln Cathedral


Mark Wilde / Caroline Siriwardena


Katie Trethewy - Soprano
Stephen Burrows - Counter Tenor
Nick Sales - Tenor
Brian Bannatyne Scott - Bass


£20, £16, £12, £8. Available from the Cathedral Shop and from Visit Lincoln website. Doors open 6.45pm

Cathedral seating plan is here.

Sadly, Neville Turner, our Musical Director, is unwell and will be unable to conduct the concert as planned. However, we have pleasure in announcing that Mark Wilde, Professor of Singing at The Royal Academy of Music (London) and Lecturer in Music at the University of Lincoln, will take on the conducting duties. The First Violinist and Concertmaster of Lincolnshire Chamber Orchestra, Caroline Siriwardena, will lead the orchestra for the Telemann overture.
We are most grateful to both for stepping in at short notice.

Johann Sebastian Bach's Magnificat is a musical setting of the biblical canticle Magnificat. It is scored for five vocal parts (two sopranos, alto, tenor and bass), and a Baroque orchestra including trumpets and timpani. It is the first major liturgical composition on a Latin text by Bach.
In 1723, after taking up his post as Thomaskantor in Leipzig, Bach set the text of the Magnificat in a twelve movement composition in the key of E-flat major.
For the feast of Visitation of 1733, Bach produced a new version of his Latin Magnificat: instrumentation of some movements was altered or expanded, and the key changed from E-flat major to D major. This version of Bach's Magnificat is known as BWV 243 and became the standard for performance. It is one of Bach's most popular vocal works.

Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme (Awake, calls the voice to us), also known as Sleepers Wake, is a church cantata by Johann Sebastian Bach, regarded as one of his most mature and popular sacred cantatas. He composed the chorale cantata in Leipzig for the 27th Sunday after Trinity and first performed it on 25 November 1731.
The cantata is based on the hymn in three stanzas "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme" (1599) by Philipp Nicolai, which covers the prescribed reading for the Sunday, the parable of the Ten Virgins. Bach structured the cantata in seven movements, setting the first stanza as a chorale fantasia, the second (movement 4) in the style of a chorale prelude, and the third as a four-part chorale. Bach scored the work for three vocal soloists (soprano, tenor, bass), a four-part choir and a Baroque instrumental ensemble of horn, two oboes, taille, violino piccolo, strings and basso continuo including bassoon.

William G. Whittaker (the influential English-Scottish composer, pedagogue and musicologist) called it "a cantata without weakness, without a dull bar, technically, emotionally and spiritually of the highest order".

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681 - 1767) was a German Baroque composer and multi-instrumentalist. Almost completely self-taught in music, he became a composer against his family's wishes. After studying in Magdeburg, Zellerfeld, and Hildesheim, Telemann entered the University of Leipzig to study law, but eventually settled on a career in music. He held important positions in Leipzig, Sorau, Eisenach, and Frankfurt before settling in Hamburg in 1721, where he became musical director of the city's five main churches.
The Overture TWV55 D18, in D major is in seven movements or sections:
Menuet 1 & 2
Gavotte en Rondeau
Air (Lentement)
Les Postillons
Fanfare (Très viste)